“You paid how much for that?!”

It’s a question that either brings dread or pride. “You paid how much for that?!” ‘Cause you know that means the person either thinks you got ripped off or have mad bargaining skills, right?

A very wise woman (Hi, Karen!) once told me that you never overpay for something if the price was worth it to you. Those words have been a comforting reminder to me ever since we moved to Senegal, land of the waxale.

So let’s play a little game of sorts. Do you have an Gazellicious item that you either have bought or want to buy, but aren’t sure what the going price is? Post a picture on our Facebook page and we can all give our 2 CFA.

I’ll start…

Screen Shot 2015-02-15 at 4.30.04 PM
I bought this wax print clutch from Fabrique Afrique in Plateau. I paid 3000 CFA ($6) and it’s well made, so I think that’s a good deal, no?

Screen Shot 2015-02-15 at 4.34.35 PM
What about these chunky wax print + wood bead necklaces I bought from a vendor at La Pointe des Almadies last night and paid 2000 CFA ($4) each. What do you think? Good price or could I have done better?

Screen Shot 2015-02-15 at 4.26.49 PM
And this pagne tissé wallet I got at the DWG Christmas Bazaar for 8000 CFA ($16)?

Okay, now your turn!

Leave a Reply

