Body Best – a second chance

Sometime last year I went to Body Best for a manicure/pedicure and a massage. It was a special occasion so I took my time looking into where I wanted to go, and what services I would choose, with the amount I had to spend. I picked Body Best because it’s in Pointe E, close to where I live.

The massage was amazing. It was so relaxing and I could tell that the lady was really well-trained. There was a shower in the room which was great for rinsing off pre and post massage if you wanted.

Then came the mani/pedi. It was a good experience.

BUT! Everything changed when I went to pay. Before coming I had looked online at their prices, and had made my final decision on what services to book based on these prices. So I came with the exact amount I needed. Long story short, the cashier (and 3 or 4 other workers) made a big scene telling me I had to pay more and that the prices quoted on their website were out of date. I held my ground and said, “That’s not my problem. Your website should be updated. I’m paying what your website says I should pay for these three services.”

It was not a lovely way to end a relaxing afternoon, that’s for sure! I insisted they call their manager and they were mean to me and said I had no right to talk to her, etc. I was shocked and angry. We went back and forth, back and forth.

I *slammed* my money on the desk (the amount their website told me I owed) and left swearing I would never go back.

 _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Well, I went back. Today. They’re just so close and convenient, that I decided I would give Body Best a second chance at love.

Good news! They are under new management. It was kind of funny because the lady doing my mani/pedi asked if I had been there before and I said “One other time, but it was a bad experience.” Ha! I told her all about it and she was horrified, she even apologized for what had happened. She was glad I held my ground and didn’t pay the (outrageous) price they were wanting.

It’s 18,000cfa for a manicure/pedicure at Body Best, which is a little bit more than some places in Dakar, but I will say: you get the SPA experience. The music, the candles, the AC, the hot beverage of choice served with a little sweet treat, etc.

They have a special going on right now that they called ‘Frofo’ (does that word mean anything to anyone?)

It’s 50,000cfa and includes: a massage, a facial, a hammam, a manicure and a pedicure! That’s a really good deal. Plus if you don’t have time for all of that in one day, you can spread it out over a month.

Call 33 824 07 04 for directions, more price info, or to book an appointment. Tell them Jennifer sent you.

image (5)

Body Best gives you a spa experience, right in Pointe E.

Turqoise toes!

turquoise toes!

Soft pink nails, an unusual choice for me, but I love them.

Soft pink nails, an unusual color choice for me, but I love them. {A special thanks to my husband for this special treat!}

 

 

5 thoughts on “Body Best – a second chance

  1. I’m so glad that your experience there was better this time! 🙂 Thank goodness they got new management!

    Love those toes! 🙂 I should paint mine – I haven’t in months!

  2. I had a very similar experience to the first one that you recounted. They were EXTREMELY rude to my friend and I. We had decided to go for Mani-Pedis, and at the time we were both interns in Dakar and short on cash. They also put up a fight, and when I spoke with the manager, she said that I was the one out of line to walk into her business and “talk back”. An unfortunately tense way to end what was a lovely day. Glad to hear things have seemed to improve!

Leave a Reply

