Hot season survival

So it’s a little warm out, eh ladies?

Amy recently posted this on our Facebook page:

Screen Shot 2013-09-26 at 6.17.35 AM

The number of replies made me feel so much better and like I’m not alone in this hot, sweaty, frizzy boat. Plus there were some good tips shared on feeling a bit prettier when it’s 110% humidity out. (I particularly liked Amanda, Jenn and Polly’s advice to wear brightly colored earrings or headbands rather than make-up.)

On that note, I thought I’d share some of my favorite products to use in hot weather.

Tea tree oil & Mint shampoos
The one I’m currently using is a giant bottle from Sally’s Beauty Supply that’s a knock-off of Paul Mitchell’s Tea Tree Shampoo. It’s so refreshing and has just enough cool tingle in it to feel great. Just thinking about it makes me want to go wash my hair!

I did a little Googling and apparently you can also do hair rinses with cooled mint tea or steeped mint leaves. Add those to my ‘must try soon’ list.

5-minute facial
I’ve posted this favorite on here before, but it’s worth sharing again. Especially since the heat can wreak havoc on my complexion.

Wash your face and neck. While wet, gently scrub with about 1-2 tsp of baking soda. Rinse. Pour a little apple cider vinegar (available at CityDia) on a cotton ball and wipe down your face and neck. Your skin will be baby-soft and all dewy-fresh!

Mint body wash
Along the same lines, a good mint body wash can go a long way in making that bucket bath more refreshing. And a little poof thingy works up a good lather, which I find always makes me feel cleaner and fresher. B&BW and Burt’s Bees both make nice mint body washes.

Avon Naturals Ultra Light Moisturizers
I heard that these are discontinued, but if you can get your hands on them… It’s a super lightweight, clear liquid moisturizer that dries quickly and leaves you feeling (and smelling) lovely. I have the Pomegranate & Mango, but there’s also Cucumber Melon.

Exofène
Okay, not nearly as fun or pretty smelling, but it’s a pretty effective tool for preventing and fighting heat rash. Most pharmacies in Dakar carry it.

Any other tips or products to share?

2 thoughts on “Hot season survival

Leave a Reply

