Things I’m just not cool enough to wear

1. Anything ‘Aztec’ or ‘Navajo’.

I keep seeing these Indian Native American print skirts and such on Pinterest. I just can’t. I think it’s because they remind me too much of that summer trip out West when I was 12 years old and we bought a lot of stuff that looked like this:

 

2. Mint green nails.

I know, I know. The Jenns and Angèles are groaning at how utterly unhip I am. I think it looks so cute on them, but looks like mold on me. Sorry kids, no can do. (BTW, Pinterest has loads of mint nails with Aztec designs. Double no.)

 

3. High waisted shorts or pants.

Screen Shot 2013-09-12 at 8.04.32 PM

I have a two-year old. If I were to slide on a pair of high-waisted anything, they would legitimately and immediately become Mom Jeans. That’s a big deedet waaye, my friends.

 

4. Chevron.

This isn’t really a coolness issue as much as I feel like, adorable as it is, it will SCREAM ‘early 2010s’ in a few years. And I have enough dated clothing in my closet already, thankyouverymuch.

 

5. Color-blocking.

This one I’m going to blame on pure laziness. I’ve seen plenty of how-to articles on how to color-block or putting together an amazing color-block ensemble. The truth is that I’d rather flip the page and read about that recipe for one-pot pasta where all the veggies cook with the noodles.

 

6. Ombre hair.

And that pretty much sums it up. Plus, how ridiculous would my pixie cut looked ombre-ed? Maybe I should consider gradient color instead. You know, brunette in the front, blonde in the back. Like the Mullet for 2013.

 

What about you? Anything you’ve seen around that you just can’t bring yourself to try?

7 thoughts on “Things I’m just not cool enough to wear

  1. Oh I’m just not cool enough for most American fashion (Senegalese style suits me so much better) but at the top of my no-can-do list is ankle/short pants…. I know they’re all the rage, but every time I’ve tried a pair on they still just feel like highwaters and remind me of a grade school kid whose mom was just trying the get one more season out of too small pants.

  2. THANK YOU. Amen to every single one of these! If see one more chevron item I might scream. And yes, I realize I’m the least trendiest person in the world…but I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

