What to pack for a beach vacation

Tomorrow I’m going with my husband’s family to the beach for a week! Yes, I’m excited. It’s been awhile since I went to a beach in the USA… I’m guessing there won’t be any cows roaming around?

This post boils down to one thing: procrastination. That’s right. Instead of actually packing, I’m taking pictures of all of the things that I should be packing!

Here’s a glimpse at what I’m {eventually} going to pack to bring to the beach:

My uniform for the week.

My uniform for the week.

I know this suit is a little too conservative for miss-always-wears-a-bikini Khady, but she lived in France for like 100 years, so that’s different. This suit is from Target and I love the halter neck, the brass beads, and the colors. If you have more than one suit, bring it! You’ll be happy to mix it up since it’s the main thing you’ll be wearing. Just pay attention to tan lines, and adjust straps if necessary while laying out. A hat is a great way to keep the sun off of your face, and a fun way to look stylish at the beach, with zero effort. I wish I had one of these to wear.

A great cover up is a MUST.

A great cover up is a MUST.

My sister sent this “dress” to Senegal in a package one time and I was SO excited, since I’m a stripes lover. However, it was just way too sheer, so I turned it into a swimsuit cover up. 

Multi-use pieces are great staple pieces.

Multi-use pieces are great staple pieces.

I actually bought this dress at an Italian shop in Saly, Senegal last year. It’s thin and flowy and works great as a multi-use piece, as I can wear it as a dress, wear it with leggings, or as a swimsuit cover-up. Do you have any multi-use pieces? Tell me about them! The more multi-use pieces you pack, the lighter your luggage will be in the end.

Short & sheer.

Short & sheer.

How cute is this peach and grey dress? My sister-in-law Kristen surprised me with it when we arrived in the US in July. It’s from Forever 21 and is a fun way to show off some leg without being too “in your face” for someone like me who isn’t used to showing lots of leg. I’ll probably wear it out to dinner / whatever else we decide to do in the evenings.

An assortment of pants, skirts, shorts.

An assortment of pants, skirts, shorts.

Four things:

1. I’m a denim fan. So these “bottom” pieces are almost all denim, but you can bring whatever you have. Flowy skirts, satin pants, etc.

2. I bought that light blue skirt for $5. Go me!

3. I like to bring  an assortment of capris, shorts, pants, etc. and I like to bring an assortment of colors that can be mixed n’ matched with whatever shirts I’m bringing. I’m also bringing some white pants which are another MUST for summer!

4. I’m bringing the blue jean jacket for those freezing air-conditioned restaurants or cool evenings by the water.

My selection of shirts.

A few shirts and a black scarf.

Here are some of the tops I’m bringing. Note the black scarf {from Senegal} that can be used as a wrap, a shawl for cool evenings, or a scarf. Another great multi-use piece! I have a few t-shirts, some fancy tops that can be paired with colored jeans, and tank-tops too. Also, note the Downy wrinkle release. That stuff is a—-mazing and a handy thing to have when you just want to spray, shake out the wrinkles, and go!

Bringing these too.

Bringing these too.

These fit into the denim category, and are great for any time you’re not in the pool or the ocean. Also, I only paid $9 for these bad boys. Don’t you love end-of-summer sales?!

3 pairs are all I need.

3 pairs are all I need.

It’s sometimes hard to decided on exactly what shoes to bring. I’m bringing these wedges for dressier outfits, sandals that can be worn with anything, and flip-flops for at the pool and beach.

Last-minute things.

Last-minute things.

These are some of those last-minute things that you don’t want to forget! Sunscreen, sunglasses, a few pieces of jewelry for day-trips and evenings out, a good book and some magazines, and those just-in-case band-aids, cold meds, and vitamin C packets {I think I forget that I’m in the US now and don’t have to pack it all – haha}.

Snacks!

Snacks!

And last but NOT least… you can’t go on a 10-hour road trip to the beach without some candy and snacks! Right, Amy??

OKAY. Now I need to stop writing about what I’m going to bring and actually go pack!

What about you? What are some of your must-pack vacation items?

One thought on “What to pack for a beach vacation

Leave a Reply

