Trying to pull off the head wrap….

So, are head wraps “high fashion” or are they more likely to be on the “what not to wear” list? It seems we are always discussing this topic. When I flip through the pages of Glamour Magazine or In Style it looks VERY high fashion…but, when I look in the mirror I look like someone who would be in those magazines under the “Don’t” section. Do you know what I mean?

It is hot season in Senegal AND I am in the process of growing my hair out. Not a good combination. My plan is to wear my hear pulled back in a bun the rest of the season (it is too hot to blow dry and straighten my UBER thick hair)! The only problem, my face seems a bit harsh with my hair all pulled back and I needed a little something to dress it up. Thus, the head wrap comes into play. Below is my attempt…

Yes, I feel like a nerd. Yes, I feel like I’m trying to be something I’m not…but we can’t all look as high fashion as Jenni Keating! Needless to say I will not feel very pretty throughout hot season this year.
photo

3 thoughts on “Trying to pull off the head wrap….

  1. I would like to say that I think you look A-Mazing! The way you have it tied in the photo above is perfect for you! Embrace it and feel good! I too usually wrap my hair in the summer months. Mostly be cause the sun dries my hair out so drastically that I have to protect with a wrap or braids. I prefer a wrap! And head wraps are MOST DEFINITELY high fashion! 🙂

  2. I think you totally pull off the head scarf! It’s not so big that all you have is a knot on your head. Very nice!

  3. Amy, that is gorgeous. If I had as beautiful a face as you, I would SO be enjoying the styles and colors that so flatter you! You have a 50’s glamour that most of us would kill to pull off, lol. Wear it with swag, darling! Praying for you.

Leave a Reply

