Pinterest-inspired looks

There’s a BIG world of creativity out there! Pinterest is a fun place to get ideas and inspiration for everything from new cookie recipes, to how to spruce up your bedroom using yellow accents, to what to wear this summer.

Here are some Pinterest-inspired looks, with an African twist:

I hear big skirts are in.

I hear big skirts are in.

                           {source}

At the most recent Bazaar hosted by the Dakar Women’s Group, I saw a few different vendors selling these big, full skirts. I can’t decide if I love them-love them, or if they’re a little too “Little House on the Prairie” for me. Thoughts? Another thing to keep in mind is that with all of that fabric, they’re going to be hot and heavy.

I love these shirts.

I love these shirts.

                        {source}

Just in general, I really like this picture. I think this top is a flattering style, the way it flares out at the waist. You could wear a skinny belt around your waist too, if you wanted. It would look nice with a pencil skirt, jeans, black pants, or even shorts in the summer.

Great with jeans.

Great with jeans.

                        {source}

Here’s a shirt + jeans combo that I love. It’s not too “in your face” with the bold prints, but it is unique and still African. Cute for wearing while in Europe / the U.S.

Perfect for a big event.

Perfect for a big event.

                          {source}

This is a style of a dress that I would totally have made for a wedding, baby naming ceremony, Tabaski, etc. It’s still dressy enough, but still looks comfortable for warm days. I love that fabric, don’t you?

Great for hot season.

Great for hot season.

                          {source}

This knee-length skirt is adorable. It would be a perfect go-to look for hot season. Just pair it with some sandals, a tank or t-shirt, and some jewelry! I also love the mix of navy and green in this particular fabric.

A-dorable.

A-dorable.

                                {source}

This dress is super classy and would look nice for so many different occasions!

Do you have a Pinterest board with ideas / things you want to have made to wear here in Senegal? If so, send us a link!

You can see the beginning stages of the Gazelle Skirt Pinterest board here.

6 thoughts on “Pinterest-inspired looks

  1. Jenn I just had a dress made based off the 4th picture! I love all these pictures and I agree with you about the first skirt. I think you have to have exactly the right body type to wear it and I certainly don’t. But you could totally pull it off and look fabulous!

  2. Pingback: http://media-cache-ak2.pinimg.com/originals/6a/48/53/6a48532def082434a345e806696a3cd2.jpg - African Wear Style

Leave a Reply

