Steak and earrings

First of all, isn’t that a beautiful title? Does it get any better than steak and earings? Let me back up…

Some friends who we hadn’t seen in a really long time were in town, and invited us to go eat with them. They had never been to the Brazilian Churrascaria (how sad!), so we took it upon ourselves to introduce them to one of our favorite restaurants in Dakar.

I don’t know about you, but I love steak. I was already looking forward to a good meal, but when I walked in the restaurant and saw a rack of earrings for sale near the cash register, I KNEW it was going to be a good night.

A good night it was. The meal was amazing, and I was able to buy some earings to take home to my sisters {shhhh!} as a little souvenir from Senegal.  The earrings are made from African fabrics that have been bunched into a circle and sewn in the center. (That’s the best way I can describe them.) There are beads above the fabric part, and there are a variety of colors and sizes.

Only 1,000 cfa

Only 1,000 cfa

So cute!

So cute!

The earrings are made by a local ladies’ group at a church in town. The group is called Dorcas Afrique, not to be confused with Maison Dorcas. They were just 1,000 cfa, too!  

So, next time you want a good meal AND some unique African print earrings…. you know where to go.

2 thoughts on “Steak and earrings

  1. PLEASE can you tell me where this Restaurant is? I definitely would LOVE to buy LOTS of earrings… Please let me know….Thanks… Shari Timberlake

Leave a Reply

