Meg’s week of outfits

Today we have Meg, a 20-something journalist from Sénégal and Canada. She’s now working as a journalist in North Africa. Here’s a look at her outfits of the week:

Day 1: Babysitting a whole bunch of kids! Needed to be comfy, so I put on my trusty Keds and a dress a friend gave me from the frippe. My sweater is also from the frippe, my scarf was stolen from a friend who left the country, and my leggings are by the Canadian brand TNA. (Note- the frippe is the used clothing market here in Tunis. You will be seeing a lot of it in my outfits!)

IMG_1643_2-001

Day 2: I had to go to the doctor, so I tried to brighten up the day with a pretty, colourful wooden necklace from Senegal. I wore my Minnetonkas, which I’ve had for about three years, and my jean jacket from Forever 21 which I’ve had just as long. I added a guy’s white shirt and a tank from Old Navy, plus my polka-dot jeans I got at a GAP outlet. My scarf that I tied on my leather purse (from the frippe) is from a market in Charleston, South Carolina.

IMG_1671-001 IMG_1649-001IMG_1664-001

Day 3: Went with a friend to one of my very favourite places in Tunisia- Ennejma Ezzahra, a mansion built by a Baron who was the man responsible for preserving both the historic town of Sidi Bousaid and traditional Arab music. I wore a tunic I got at a used clothing store in Canada years ago, some skinny jeans from Primark in the UK and brown Havaianas, the best flip flops in the world!

IMG_1686-001 IMG_1700-001

Day 4: For my friend’s going-away party, I wore plain black leggings, t-shirt, and leather flats with a beautiful “infinity skirt” that my Malaysian friend gave me- it’s from New York, and I think it’s so special. I also wore a necklace and bracelet I got in Malaysia- I guess I was feeling nostalgic for that beautiful country! 🙂 I added my jean jacket again, and a kikoi from Kenya that I wore as a scarf when it got cold. The shades were a couple Euros at an accessories store in Nice.

IMG_1712-001

Day 5: A cloudy church day. The jacket (H&M), pants and shirt (GAP) are all from the frippe! The swan belt is a vintage one my mother wore, and says he grandmother wore! I added my Minnetonkas and some bracelets from Tunis, Malaysia and one I made.

IMG_1751-001IMG_1741-001 

Day 6: Lunch with a friend and errands. Urban outfitters headband (frippe), anchor earrings (American Eagle), cord shirt-dress (frippe, shortened by the tailor), braided brown belt I wear ALL the time (frippe), TNA leggings, Minnetonkas.

IMG_1754-001

IMG_1768_2-001

Day 7: This is what I look like when I am hanging out at home doing work! In the evening I went to Arabic lessons and then hung out with my teacher’s five-year-old son, so I put on my comfy polka-dot jeans, green t (from the frippe), a scarf my parents got at a flea market in Spain and my H&M army jacket (frippe).

IMG_1780-001 

IMG_1789_2-001

 Because Meg is a journalist, and likes to document things… we get a bonus {lucky us}! Here’s what she wore for her birthday and the day before her birthday:

Day before birthday: hiking to find the perfect location for hanging on the beach the next day. I got the awesome shirt at the World Social Forum in Tunis. Hat is a birthday present from my family that I bought at the frippe.

IMG_1822-001

Birthday: I am doing my best Jason Mraz impression, complete with ukulele! I bought this dress in England almost three months ago and have been waiting to wear it on my birthday. Again, leggings- they are my culturally-appropriate addition to almost every skirt/dress outfit. The Birkenstocks are a wonderful investment. I’ve had my old pair for about five years, and they are just now starting to look like they should be retired, so I picked up this pretty pair in Nice.

IMG_1860-001

Happy birthday, Meg!

The nail polish from my week of outfits!
Essie Midnight Cami
OPI Mermaid Tears
Essie Mademoiselle

Birthday:
Color Club Volt of Light
OPI Shorts Story

IMG_1669-001 IMG_1785-001

IMG_1745-001

IMG_1800-001

IMG_1799-001

2 thoughts on “Meg’s week of outfits

  1. I must admit, this is the first “week of outfits” post I have looked at in its entirety! And I wasn’t looking at the clothes as much as the face of my beautiful girl I haven’t seen in person in 6 months. Love you Meg!

Leave a Reply

