Just opened: Anne de la V.

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.43.58

Checking out a Casamance-style hand-woven scarf

Before my friend Lauren went back to the US, she introduced me to an amazing woman. Anne Marie is a Senegalese fashion designer and tailor who studied in France. We are obviously a good match, no? 😉 Okay, well at least a very fun match!

I’ve gotten to know her over the past year and am continually impressed by her ideas and vision, and also her desire to use very high quality African fabric in a very wearable way. I mean this both in the sense that her designs looks great on all ethnicities and also in that she uses smaller swatches of these fabrics as accents so that the ensemble is more affordable for the average shopper. (My husband likes that part too!)

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.44.29

Jenn, shopping the racks

For months now I’ve been following Anne Marie’s progress as she worked towards opening her own boutique. As you can imagine, it’s a lot of work for a single woman to find the right location, get the work done on the place, get moved in, hire salespeople… oh, and make the clothes and accessories. Anne Marie is one busy lady and her hard work has paid off because… the Anne de la V. boutique opened last week!

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.43.08

The woman behind the ‘Anne de la V.’ brand

Jenn and I went over today to check it out, talk clothes (I love, love, love talking to Anne Marie about African fabrics. So interesting.), do a little shopping and take some time to pray with her about the future of this business.

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.44.42

Anne Marie uses swatches of very high quality African fabrics as accents on Western styles

Anne de la V. boutique

Ouakam, Cité Asecna, near Brioche Dorée. With Brioche Dorée behind you, it’s four blocks down on your right. The boutique will be on your left.

Open Monday thru Saturday, 10am to 7pm

77 606 6162

Shop the collection or place a custom order. (She speaks great English.)

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.41.59

Modeling one of Anne Marie’s newest items

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.40.03

I love all the details!

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.40.18

Hand crocheted and beaded sandals for 8,000cfa ($16). More coming soon in wax prints. I. Cannot. Wait.

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.40.39

She looks like an experienced shopper, no?

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.41.33

We both loved the wax print buttons on this blazer.

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.41.48

This was so cute! A strapless dress + lightweight bolero to cover your shoulders/back if you want to wear it somewhere more conservative or on a cool night.

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.42.46

Super cute jacket she had just finished for a client

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.46.14

A mixed print party dress she made for me

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.46.09

Linen + mud cloth. (I wore this to a last-minute meeting at the Presidential Palace.)

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.46.04

Malian indigo fabric my husband gave me. Anne Marie made this dress, a pair of wide-leg pants and an adorable skirt with a belt.

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.45.58

Flowy khartoum dress with long angle sleeves

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.46.21

One of my favorite ensembles made by Anne Marie: lightweight top accented with wax print, matching belt with rose knot, then three very different skirt styles that can be worn with it. All her idea.

Capture d’écran 2013-05-06 à 20.44.53

Jenn’s purchase!

12 thoughts on “Just opened: Anne de la V.

  1. I love that you had a “last minute meeting” at the Presidential Palace. I mean, really?
    Your Ann-Marie outfits are so cute! I should be seeing them more often.
    Fun day, cute clothes.

  2. Absolutely love Anne Marie’s dress she’s wearing! I would like a long skirt made of same fabric, please. Then I’ll need a pair of beaded sandals to go with it…blue or green or yellow. Next time we come, please take me there…at least once.

  3. That Malian Indigo fabric dress is soooo beautiful! That print is so nostalgic for me…I had a dress made of similar fabric when I was a little girl, and I think to this day it is my favourite dress I have ever owned. I’d like to own one again someday.
    I need to visit this woman’s shop one day! Incredible clothes.

  4. Pingback: Jenn’s week of outfits | The Gazelle Skirt

  5. Pingback: SWAP recap! | The Gazelle Skirt

  6. Pingback: Swap til you drop! | Senegal Daily

  7. Pingback: Featuring Anne de la V.! | The Gazelle Skirt

  8. Pingback: SWAP 2014 recap | The Gazelle Skirt

  9. Pingback: SWAP-n-shop | Senegal Daily

  10. Pingback: 5 things I learned while sorting your clothes | Senegal Daily

  11. Thanks for bringing African fashion to the forefront as very wearable for every ethnicity!
    But how can I living in Canada get hold of your clothing’s?…I see other companies mostly in the Far East taking customers measurement and sending custom made items …have you considered this? …hoping to get something from you one day…where is your location??

Leave a Reply

