Let’s vote on head scarves

African women can pull off a head scarf like nobody’s business. They look amazing, and it fits their style.

Even Grandma rocks a head scarf.

Even Grandma rocks a head scarf.

White girls… well, that can be another story.

I like the look, but it can be a bit of a fashion risk in my opinion, especially if you’re not wearing traditional African clothes.

I tried wearing a head scarf with jeans and a t-shirt the other day. What do you think? Good idea? Bad idea? Yay? Nay?

Jeans, t-shirt, and a head scarf.

Jeans, t-shirt, and a head scarf.

It’s funny, because apparently I’m not the only one debating the head scarf look. It was listed as one of the “style dares” in a recent issue of InStyle magazine.

75% said no, they would not wear a head scarf.

75% said no.

I was actually quite surprised that 75% said that no, they would not wear a head scarf. But then my husband (who, for some strange, strange reason, was looking at the poll with me) asked, “But would you wear one in America?”

Hmmm. Good question. I might, but probably not. At least not very often.

Living here in Senegal, however, where lots of women are wearing head scarves, it makes it a whole lot easier to “blend in” while wearing one. Even if I am just wearing jeans and a t-shirt.

Are you curious to know what one of the other “style dares” was? Ok, I’ll tell you.

Adding colored streaks to your hair. Would you do that? 62% said no.

Who wants to try?

Who wants to try?

A few reasons we like head scarves:

– They’re a great way to cover up a messy hair day

– They’re a fun way to play with different fabrics

– They’re another way to add a pop of color to your outfit

– Senegalese women like to see it

A few reasons they can be a [sometimes literal] headache:

– They can be hot

– They can make your head itch

– They can be tricky to put on

What do you think? Add YOUR vote to the poll by adding a comment, or e-mailing us at gazelleskirts@gmail.com.

10 thoughts on “Let’s vote on head scarves

  1. Colored streaks…No, I wouldn’t do that. But I’m a generation older than you. However, I see colored streaks in hair all the time here in the U.S. Bright colors.
    Head scarf…not here, I wouldn’t. But you girls can pull off anything and look great in SN.

  2. OK, so here is my pet peeve about toubabs and head scarves. If the scarf is too small and we still try and do the big Senegalese tie we end up looking like cancer patients. So I say YES wear a headscarf but wear it with dressy clothes and make sure it’s big enough to do fancy things with it. FYI, for 1,000 you can go to a hair salon and they will tie and pin and even sew your scarf onto your head – fancy, fancy. Oh and by the way, the streak of hair dye has reached Senegal. It’s a new trend among the high school girls up here.

  3. Yay for the head scarf! You pull it off beautifully! I often do the scarf thing when travelling, but rarely here. I love scarfs though! I would do colored streaks, too, but only one color at a time. Katy Perry looks a little too much like Rainbow Brite ( if anyone remembers her!). 😀 The only reason I don’t do highlights is the price and upkeep…too much work! 😉

  4. Funny, I did the headscarf (50s glam style) on Easter after church. My family laughed, but I love it. I just need to get some lighter weight scarves. I think I may nerve myself up to wear one to the office. But, I do like some of my hair showing-bangs and/or in back. Totally covering your hair in America makes people think cancer. :/

  5. I like headscarves. My head hates them and sabotages all my attempts by slipping them off at random times. I only wear them when I have to (which is pretty much every day…sigh). 🙂

  6. Red & blue Bandana scarves came in big-time while I was in college and I know lots of girls wore them when their hair was dirty. I never did. I thought I looked better with clean hair than with a scarf, and even if my hair was clean, why cover it with a scarf and risk others thinking your hair was dirty???

    As for colored streaks, I think they are fun. Here in Hungary, it’s the 60+ year olds who dye their hair (all over) maroon or fuschia; it’s not the young people. I’ll be that age soon, but even if I wanted to “fit in”, I don’t know that my conservative nature would allow me to do so.

  7. I really want to be in! I have been dipping my head in the trend and using them as headbands. Working up the courage to try the full deal! Here in Tunisia though they can get a bit confusing, since women wear them as veils. Even if you wrap them African style, people will think you are a hijabi. And I actually know of Westerners who wear it like that to be culturally sensitive/support their hijabi friends.
    Despite the confusing, I’m going to try it soon!

  8. I wear headscarves MORE in America than I did in Niger (because it was SO HOT!) I’m totally for it! I feel so feminine and pretty when I wear a head scarf.

Leave a Reply

