Celebrating Easter in Style!

Khady in Dakar

Picture 6

My husband’s Senegalese mom (did you follow that?) gave me this dress as a wedding gift, but I’ve never worn it… until today! Somehow pink embroidery just seemed right on Easter. Plus, we were going to a Senegalese friend’s house for lunch.

Picture 7

It’s a long tunic top over a skirt, and then the musoor headwrap. I like it because it’s not too frilly (pink and embroidery is girly enough for me!), fairly cool and easy to walk in.

photo-2

I’m on the fence when it comes to head scarves. I want to love them – and I do on others. I think I’ve figured out that, for me, the key is not to cover all my hair. Anyone out there know if this is an acceptable halfway point, culturally speaking?

Picture 4

 

Karen in Burkina Faso

When we moved back to Senegal, Karen was the first toubab woman who dressed in Senegalese clothes most of the time. She lived in St-Louis at the time and carried herself with a grace and ease that I really admired. So, knowing she’d be wearing something awesome, I asked her to send a photo of her Easter clothes.

IMG_1895

“This I wore to celebrate the 90 years that that the resurrection of Jesus has been celebrated in Burkina Faso.”

 

Angèle in Dakar

image

“I wore a blue dress made by Jones New York for Easter today. I have this weird relation with this brand. Several of my favorite pieces of clothing, whether thrifted or purchased brand new, happen to be Jones New York! I bought this at a TJ Maxx for the marked down price of $30 (normally it was close to $100). It’s cotton and I chose it because it’s comfortable, it’s bright (Easter is a happy holiday!:)),and it has pockets. I’m really into skirts and dresses with pockets right now!”

image

“I don’t wear this dress very much because I like to keep it for special days, but I would consider it one of my favorites! :)”

 

Nadia in Dakar

photo (1)

“My sister bought this dress at the Saturday market, and gave it to me. I really love the floral vintage print. My belt is from Forever 21.”

 

Fatou Kiné in St-Louis

FK-STL

You remember Fatou Kiné, right? So it’s no surprise that she went all out in full Senegalese fashion for Easter.

8559_10151582058043210_1075959388_n

The women from her church do a natt, which is a weekly collection of about 500cfa per person. This money is saved for the group to spend together on a designated item, such as soap in bulk or, in this case, fabric for Easter! One person is charged with buying the fabric for everyone. Then each woman has an outfit made that’s her own style or variation. And of course, they all wear them on Easter Sunday.

STL ladies

This year’s fabric is a very light weight cotton. “I used a new tailor and I really like him,” Fatou Kiné said. “It’s amazing the different styles each woman wore given we each had six meters of the same fabric.”

 

Meg in Tunisia

Jumping on Easter

“I got this dress from the frippe (used clothing market) in Tunis. It was around a dollar. When I saw it, it reminded me of a slightly more grown-up version of the dresses my Mom used to make my sister and I for Easter Sunday. I love wearing flowers on Easter because they signify hope and new life.
I added ankle-length leggings because the weather here is unpredictable, and my Forever 21 jean jacket that I have had for about three years and wear all the time, everywhere! I wasn’t wearing them in this picture, but I also had on cream-coloured “Bali” Birkenstocks. Oh, and a gold locket, pearl stud earrings, and an emerald ring, all from my parents. I rarely wear these in Tunis, but on Easter I feel like I need to look my best for Jesus!”

Choir Outfits

“When the choir burst out into the church singing, they were all wearing incredible African outfits in every style and colour. Even the men! This photo doesn’t do them justice. They did their culture and their Saviour proud- Their voices were every bit as bright and joyful as their attire!”

 

Trish in Louga

“I was going to wear something much fancier, but the power went out right before church so I couldn’t iron it! So I just wore my favorite outfit instead :)”

picstitch

 

Paula in Thiès

I (halfway) jokingly posted on Facebook that I was having trouble deciding between a faux-hawk and a big headscarf to go with my Easter dress. Paula replied that she had gone the musoor headscarf route, so I asked her to send a photo.

Picture 2

It’s a wax print in ‘Easter colors’!

 

Kaylyn in Dakar

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Adorable, isn’t it? And her husband picked it out!

 

LeCrecia in Dakar

LeCrecia

“This was an HLM impulse buy. My husband called it “the Windows dress”! But my Senegalese friend said that I was beautiful!” (We agree!)

 

Jenn in Dakar

IMG_8504-001

“This year I decided to wear some floral pastel wide-leg pants that I recently bought at an Embassy yard sale for 1,000 cfa {$2!}. They’re so flowy that they almost look like a skirt, they’re “springy”, and best of all, extremely comfortable! I borrowed a white shirt from Khady’s closet {a great place to shop, if you ask me!}, a pinkish-peach colored cami and matching earrings. I wore silver sandals that my friend Dior loved and wanted to take home with her. She was wearing silver flower earrings with a matching ring, a brown basin dress with black designs in the fabric, and intricate brown beading throughout the top of the dress.”

IMG_8535-001

“At our Senegalese church’s Easter service, women were wearing everything from fancy red ball gowns and heels, to black pants with a black blazer. Almost everyone was wearing fancy earrings of some kind, and everyone looked great!”

 

Shannon in Dakar

Remember Shannon’s jacket? Here’s more from her closet!

Photo on 2013-03-31 at 15.02 #2

“So this is my Easter dress. I had it made at the tailor here. I love the 1950’s and I love Senegal fabrics, so I merged the two!”

9 thoughts on “Celebrating Easter in Style!

  1. Pingback: Because when Jesus rises from the dead, you party | The View From Here

  2. You ladies are having an impact on me. Yesterday at our family lunch, I wrapped my scarf around my hair like a headband (think Hollywood 60s glamour) and enjoyed myself, in spite of my sisters laughing at me, lol. I love your styles although I am too short and wide myself to wear wide-leg print pants. Be blessed and keep having fun! (By the way, the pink is absolutely gorgeous on you!!!)

  3. Pingback: Easter: the adopted and the adapted | Senegal Daily

Leave a Reply

